"Learning with Interviews: Forced Labor 1939-1945"

The web app "Learning with Interviews: Forced Labor 1939-1945" is a competence-based learning programme for students from 14 years of age.

"Learning with Interviews": video, transcript, tasks and operating window

"Learning with Interviews": video, transcript, tasks and operating window

The life stories of former forced laborers take center stage. Seven representatives from different victim groups report on their experiences in camps and factories, the behaviour of the Germans and their experiences after returning home.

The 25-minute biographical short films are based on video interviews from the online archive "Forced Labor 1939-1945".  Two background films provide information on forced labor and compensation as well as about oral history. Informational texts, tips on methods of use, timeline and lexicon, documents and maps help to contextualize the information. The tasks can be edited directly in the operating window of the learning platform. The working proposals are suitable for different grades of all types of school and coordinated with a 90-minute teaching module.

Transcripts, translations, navigation and tasks, editing window and portfolio function make research-based learning in regular classes, on project days and in exam presentations possible. Teachers can add their own tasks. Didactic commentaries and the bookmark and note-taking function support an effective and group specific preparation of lessons.

Target groups

  • for different types of school in all federal states (from 8th grade onwards)
  • for regular classes, projects, research papers, exam presentations
  • competence-based, interdisciplinary: history, German, art ...
  • for bilingual classes and multilingual learning groups

Content

  • seven 25-minute video interviews
  • background films on forced labor during World War II and oral history
  • tasks with editing window and material
  • saving, printing and presenting the results
  • photos, documents, maps, timeline, lexicon

Teacher trainings

During the trainings in different federal states of Germany the web-based platform "Learning with Interviews: Forced Labor 1939-1945" will be presented and tested together with the participants.

"Lernen mit Interviews: Zwangsarbeit 1939-1945"

Die Online-Anwendung „Lernen mit Interviews: Zwangsarbeit 1939-1945“ ist ein kompetenzorientiertes Unterrichtsangebot für Schülerinnen und Schüler ab 14 Jahren.

"Lernen mit Interviews": Video, Transkript, Aufgaben und Arbeitsfenster

"Lernen mit Interviews": Video, Transkript, Aufgaben und Arbeitsfenster

Im Mittelpunkt stehen Lebensgeschichten ehemaliger Zwangsarbeiterinnen und Zwangsarbeiter. Sieben Mitglieder unterschiedlicher Opfergruppen berichten von ihren Erfahrungen in Lagern und Fabriken, dem Verhalten der Deutschen und ihrem Leben danach.

Die 25-minütigen biografischen Kurzfilme beruhen auf Video-Interviews aus dem Online-Archiv „Zwangsarbeit 1939-1945“; zwei Hintergrundfilme informieren über Zwangsarbeit und Entschädigung sowie Oral History. Infotexte und Methodentipps, Zeitleiste und Lexikon, Dokumente und Karten helfen bei der Kontextualisierung. Die Aufgaben können direkt im Arbeitsfenster der Lernumgebung bearbeitet werden. Die Arbeitsvorschläge sind für unterschiedliche Niveaustufen aller Schulformen geeignet und auf eine 90-minütige Unterrichtseinheit abgestimmt.

Transkripte und Übersetzungen, Navigation und Aufgaben, Arbeitsfenster und Portfolio-Funktion erlauben ein forschendes Lernen im Regelunterricht, bei Projekttagen und Präsentationsprüfungen. Lehrkräfte können eigene Aufgabenstellungen ergänzen. Didaktische Kommentare und die Merk- und Notizfunktion unterstützen eine effektive und gruppenspezifische Vorbereitung des Unterrichts.

Zielgruppen

  • für verschiedene Schulformen aller Bundesländer (ab 8. Klasse)
  • für Regelunterricht, Projekte, Facharbeiten, Präsentationsprüfungen
  • kompetenzorientiert, fachübergreifend: Geschichte, Deutsch, Kunst ...
  • für bilingualen Unterricht und mehrsprachige Lerngruppen

Inhalt

  • sieben 25-minütige Video-Interviews
  • Hintergrundfilme zu NS-Zwangsarbeit und Oral History
  • Aufgaben mit Arbeitsfenster und Materialien
  • Ergebnisse speichern, drucken und präsentieren
  • Fotos, Dokumente, Karten, Zeitleiste, Lexikon

Lehrerfortbildungen

Fortbildungen in verschiedenen Bundesländern präsentieren und erproben die Online-Anwendung "Lernen mit Interviews: Zwangsarbeit 1939-1945" gemeinsam mit den Teilnehmenden.