The Creation of the Interview Collection

Video-Interview mit Wilhelm N.

Interview with Wilhelm N.

Cover of 'Hitler's Slaves'

Cover of 'Hitler's Slaves'

Subsets

Subsets
Image Credit: CeDiS / FUB to the subsets

The archive “Forced labor 1939-1945” is a collection of witness accounts that were collected from 2005 to 2006 within the scope of the project “Documentation of Life Story Interviews with Former Slave and Forced Laborers”.

Nearly 600 survivors of Nazi forced labor have told their life stories in detailed audio and video interviews. Historically knowledgeable and personally committed interview teams from 32 institutions in 26 countries conducted the interviews and compiled the corresponding materials.

The oral history expert Alexander von Plato coordinated the methodology and developed the Interview Guidelines.

The Institute for History and Biography at the FernUniversität Hagen (PD Dr. Alexander von Plato, Dr. Almut Leh, Dr. Christoph Thonfeld) was responsible for the coordination of the project in financial cooperation with the Foundation “Remembrance, Responsibility and Future”.

Creation and content of the Interview-collection on which the project "Forced labor 1939 - 1945" is based are also described in the publication "Hitler's Slaves". Published in 2008 (English translation in 2010), the book contains numerous articles of project participants who analyse the experiences and memories of different victim groups in various countries.

Among the 32 interview projects are research institutions as well as experienced project groups from foundations and civil society initiatives.

The preparation of the collection began at the Freie Universität Berlin and the German Historical Museum at the end of 2007. The subsets of the collection that were created from these interview projects provide the basic structure of the interview archive.

Die Entstehung der Interview-Sammlung

Video-Interview mit Wilhelm N.

Video-Interview mit Wilhelm N.

Buchcover 'Hitlers Sklaven'

Buchcover 'Hitlers Sklaven'

Teilsammlungen

Teilsammlungen
Bildquelle: CeDiS / FUB zu den Teilsammlungen

Das Archiv "Zwangsarbeit 1939-1945" präsentiert eine Sammlung von Zeitzeugen-Erinnerungen, die 2005 bis 2006 im Rahmen des Projekts "Dokumentation lebensgeschichtlicher Interviews mit ehemaligen Sklaven- und Zwangsarbeitern" entstand.

Knapp 600 Überlebende der nationalsozialistischen Zwangsarbeit erzählten ihre Lebensgeschichte in ausführlichen Audio- und Video-Interviews. Historisch versierte und persönlich engagierte Interview-Teams von 32 Institutionen in 26 Ländern führten die Gespräche und erarbeiteten die dazugehörigen Materialien.

Die methodische Anleitung mittels dreier Seminare und anhand von Interview-Richtlinien übernahm der Oral-History-Experte Alexander von Plato.

Die Koordination des von der Stiftung "Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft" finanzierten Kooperations-Projekts lag beim Institut für Geschichte und Biographie der FernUniversität Hagen (PD Dr. Alexander von Plato, Dr. Almut Leh, Dr. Christoph Thonfeld).

Entstehung, Inhalt und Ergebnisse der dem Projekt "Zwangsarbeit 1939 - 1945" zu Grunde liegenden Interview-Sammlung werden auch in der Publikation "Hitlers Sklaven" geschildert. In dem 2008 erschienenen Buch analysieren zahlreiche Beteiligte des "Internationalen lebensgeschichtlichen Dokumentationsprojekts zur Sklaven- und Zwangsarbeit" auf rund 500 Seiten Erfahrungen und Erinnerungen verschiedener Opfergruppen in unterschiedlichen Ländern.

Zu den 32 Interview-Projekten gehörten wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen ebenso wie erfahrene Projektgruppen aus Stiftungen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Initiativen.

Ende 2007 begann die Aufbereitung der Sammlung an der Freien Universität Berlin und dem Deutschen Historischen Museum. Die von den Interview-Projekten erstellten Teilsammlungen bilden die Grundstruktur des Interview-Archivs.